Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland

The formation of the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland (incorporating Northern & Southern Rhodesia and Nyasaland, what is now known as Zambia, Zimbabwe and Malawi) took place at a complex time in terms of Southern Africa and British Nationality Law.

Philip Gamble examines circumstances where those who moved up to the Federation from South Africa could become British and, in some cases, pass this on to their children:

Click here for more information on:

Click here to see the full selection of videos