European Union Flag
European Union

The European Union (or EU) currently has 27 member countries, which have transferred some of their sovereignty – or lawmaking authority – to the EU.

Click here for more information on how British Nationality could be gained.

The countries that make up the EU are:

Three more countries have applied for EU membership: Croatia, Turkey and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Nationality of an EU country allows the holder the free movement within the EU, including work. The only exception is with the two countries who joined in 2007 (Bulgaria and Romania), where some EU countries still require their citizens to obtain work permits before they are entitled to work. This restriction must, by law, end in the next few years.