Brazil Flag

Brazil, officially the Federative Republic of Brazil is the largest country and the only Portuguese-speaking country in South America.

Brazil was a Portuguese colony from the landing of Pedro Álvares Cabral in 1500 until 1815 when it became an united kingdom with Portugal. The country became later independent as the Brazilian Empire in 1822, but has been a republic since 1889, although the bicameral legislature, now called Congress, dates back to 1824, when the first constitution was ratified.

Its current constitution defines Brazil as a Federal Republic. The Federation is formed by the union of the Federal District, the 26 States, and the 5,564 Municipalities.

In 2008 Brazil was the world's eight largest economy by GDP and the ninth largest by purchasing power parity. It is a founding member of the United Nations and the Union of South American Nations. Brazil is also home to a diversity of wildlife, natural environments, and extensive natural resources in a variety of protected habitats.

Brazilians aged between 18-30 qualify for a Working Holiday Visa for New Zealand.