Right to be a Caymanian - Surviving Spouse

The surviving spouse of a Caymanian who -

* was married to the deceased for at least seven years;
* immediately before the death of the deceased, was not living apart from the deceased
o under the decree of a competent court;
o under a deed of separation; or
o in circumstances where in the opinion of the Board the marriage had irretrievably broken down; and
* has been legally and ordinarily resident* in the Islands immediately preceding the death of the deceased; and
* has not in any country been convicted of an offence for which a sentence of imprisonment, not exceeding twelve months, has been imposed other than for non-payment of a fine unless
o such conviction has been quashed on appeal or has been the subject of a free pardon;
o the act or omission giving rise to such conviction would not be an offence if done or omitted in the Islands in similar circumstances; or
o the conviction is one which, in the interest of justice the Board directs to be ignored for the purposes of this section,

may apply to the Board for the grant of the right to be Caymanian."

Ask Philip Gamble whether you (or your children) have a claim to British nationality.

Learn more about these routes to British Nationality:

WhatPassport.com is a specialist UK Nationality and British Citizenship site offering an online search and assessment. Claims to hold a British Passport can be complex and the site offers a quick, simple search to give you the answers. While many people qualify for the UK Ancestry Visa based on holding a Commonwealth passport with a UK born grandmother or grandfather, we have found that if you have a grandparent born in the UK, or if your mother is British or your father is British, then there are several scenarios where you can claim British Nationality and the right to hold a British Passport. This stems from Britain’s collection of British Colonies, British Protectorates and British Protected States in the middle of last century and the Nationality rules concerning what are now the countries of the Commonwealth.