New Zealand Flag
New Zealand

New Zealand

You could qualify for a British Passport if:

  • Born to a parent (a father or mother) who was born in the UK before 1983;
  • Born before 1983 to a parent who was born after 1949 – as long as that parent a) was a British Citizen, or b) had a parent born in the UK; OR
  • Born after 1948, and your parents were married before 1949 and your paternal grandfather (your dad’s dad) was born in the UK.

There are hundreds of other ways to qualify. As a general rule, if you were born in a country that is different to either parent or any of your grandparents, or you have a connection back to the UK, Ireland or a former British Territory, then you might have a claim.

How do I find out if I have a claim to British Nationality?

We suggest following our 4 STEP PROCESS, designed to simplify the complex laws of British nationality and to avoid unnecessary and expensive application fees, to find your answer:

Step 1: Determine whether you have a Standard Route (birth in the UK before 1983, or a parent born in the UK before 1983)
Step 2: If not, complete our free Nationality Assessment
Step 3: Order a free British Passport Review
Step 4: Conduct a Status Trace

Complete our nationality assessment

To find out whether you or your children might have a claim, take a couple of moments to complete our FREE online passport assessment.

British Nationality Assessment


Up until 31.12.1948, New Zealand (and all its islands, dependencies, mandated and trust territories) were within the British Crown Dominions.

From 01.01.1949, New Zealand was an independent Commonwealth country. Click here for more information about the consequences of being born in a Commonwealth country.

The Cook Islands and Niue were associated states from 1965 and 1974 respectively.


From 17.12.1920 until 12.12.1945, Western Samoa (as it was then know) was a New Zealand Mandated Territory in which the Crown exercised extra-territorial jurisdiction.

From 13.12.1946 until 31.12.1961, it was a New Zealand Trust Territory in which the Crown exercised extra-territorial jurisdiction.

Between 01.01.1962 and 30.01.1980, it was a foreign country.

From 01.01.1983 until the present day, it is an independent Commonwealth country. Click here for more information on Samoa.

Cook Islands and Niue

While largely self-governing, the Cook Islands and Niue remain part of New Zealand.

New Zealanders aged between 18-30 qualify for a Working Holiday Visa for the following countries: